EPA Announces Final Criteria for ENERGY STAR Most Efficient

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) recently announced the final 2012 recognition criteria for its ENERGY STAR “Most Efficient” designation, which recognizes products with exceptional efficiency performance.

In the second year of this pilot effort, eight product categories will be eligible for recognition:

  • Air-source heat pumps
  • Boilers
  • Central air conditioners
  • Clothes washers
  • Furnaces
  • Geothermal heat pumps
  • Refrigerator-freezers
  • Televisions

The Most Efficient designation may be used in retail displays or web pages, but not on products or product packaging. See the full usage guidelines.

The 2012 recognition criteria for ENERGY STAR’s Most Efficient are summarized here.

In addition to meeting these performance requirements, products must be certified as ENERGY STAR by an EPA-recognized certification body, like MET Labs.  

Find out more about requirements, cost, and lead time for ENERGY STAR testing and certification.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *